Fighting those cravings!

When I am trying to watch what I eat, I know that the hardest thing to do is fight back the urge to eat those oreos or have a bowl of ice cream. However, I have put together a few tips to help fight the sugar cravings.

  • Don’t skip meals – this is very important because if you skip meals you are automatically setting yourself up for failure.  You should eat 5-6 small meals a day to keep your blood sugar levels balanced and also to keep you full and happy.
  • Get rid of the tempting foods and snacks – not having these high-fat, sugary foods around will not make you as tempted to snack on them.
  • Keep busy – from experience, I eat out of boredom.  However, I have realized that I have to ask myself before I reach for food “are you hungry” or “are you bored.”  If you keep yourself busy then there is not time to be bored and no time to eat out of boredom.
  • Keep Healthy Snacks on Hand – bring a lunchbag with you full of healthy snacks, so you are not tempted to get a snack out of the vending machine.

I hope that these help in keeping you from giving into those snack cravings.  By no means do you need to deprive yourself of what you like, just make it a treat maybe as a reward at the end of a great week of meeting your goals.  : )

3 thoughts on “Fighting those cravings!

Leave a Reply

